Sandpipers

image

If I could
I’d run away today
And meet you there
Roll up our jeans and run like the clappers
With the sandpipers chasing the tide
Would you run with me?
Darling, would you run with me?

Warm ourselves
With black coffee
In the harbour cafe
As gulls watch the men leave their fishing boats
To tables of full English breakfasts
And union jack mugs of tea
Would you run with me?

It seems like forever since I saw the sea
If you could
Oh, if you could
Would you return there with me?
Darling, would you run with me?

Drag our weary legs
To the station platform
And wait for our train
To take us home thru’ sleepy hills
Sparkling city lights
Shooting stars on distant motorways

It seems like forever since I saw the sea
If you could
Oh, if you could
Would you return there with me?
Darling, would you run with me?

Leave a Reply

