The Way My Heart Flies

image

See the little bluebird
How he flies
Up above the chimney pots
High in the sky
That’s the way my heart flies
When you go walking by

Sunlight on the water
Dancing bright
Copper bellied kingfishers
Darting in flight
That’s the way your smile
Dazzles me

If I could only speak to you
I would be
Gladder than a barn swallow
Up in the eaves
That’s how happy I would be
If you would only talk to me

And I would ask you
If I could take your hand
Step out on the floor
As they strike up the band
And we’d glide
Like birds over water

Leave a Reply

