Jealousy

image

I am jealous of every day that I am not with you
I am jealous of the light which falls on your skin
I am jealous of the sun’s rays which penetrate and warm you
I am jealous of everything you gaze upon
I am jealous of every breath you take
I wish each breath you took was mine
And each breath I took was yours
I am jealous of every soul that meets you
The bank cashier, the bus driver, the supermarket checkout attendant
This is not love
This is not hate
This is an evil feeling
With no respite
I am jealous of the man I was when first we met
For he never knew this pain
I am jealous of your bathwater

Leave a Reply

